Narratives in Contemporary Flute Music by Mexican Composers

Thumbnail Image
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
University of Alabama Libraries

This research document contains an overview of four twenty-first century flute pieces by Mexican composers who in these works both expand flute repertoire and connect it to Mexican cultural and historical contexts: Rojas están las aguas (2003-2004) by Germán Romero (b. 1966), Xochiatl (2008) by Diana Syrse (b. 1984), Estampas mexicanas (2014) by José Elizondo (b. 1972), and Xibalbá (2016) by Rodrigo Acevedo Traba (b. 1992). These composers selected texts in either Spanish or Nahuatl and placed them in a variety of instrumental settings, styles, and techniques, while also looking back to pre-Hispanic and indigenous Mexican music as a source of inspiration. While the transverse flute arrived in Mexico in 1743, its repertoire as a solo instrument or in chamber music did not fully develop until the twentieth century.The purpose of this study is to survey four contemporary flute pieces by the Mexican composers, each of whom was interviewed for this study. This document includes a summary of the history of music in Mexico, biographical information about each composer, English translations of the narratives, an overview of the compositions, and interviews with the chosen composers. To provide a deeper insight into this flute repertoire and facilitate its accessible performance, an analysis of each musical composition, examination of the narrative, and investigation of the appropriate Mexican historical context will be presented.

Electronic Thesis or Dissertation
Contemporary music, Flute, Mexican composers, Mexican history, Music Pieces, Narratives